TRIED AND TESTED: TUK TUK , NOODLE BAR SOHO

I passed by this noodle bar in Soho many, many times. I was always intrigued by its sleek, smart look and I wanted to try. So, today I decided to go there with a friend who I convinced against his will to favour a £6.50 Thai Vegan Buffet in the same street.

The prices in the Tuk Tuk many are quite fair and surprisingly not expensive for the area -true that SoHo and Covent Garden offer plenty of choices in terms of cheap eats, but it become harder over the last few years to find anything that is cheaper than a fiver.

The service was quick, the room well lit up and the staff was pleasant and efficient. Most of the tables were taken and people seemed pretty satisfied. I ordered a chicken with rice dish and my friend a meat and seafood with rice one.

Food was served promptly and the appearance was quite nice.I wouldn’t say that I felt the same way when I finished my meal. The duck and pork were very tasty and rice was just cooked fine. Still, I was disappointed somehow. I have eaten many times in cheap Noodle bars that won’t make it to the top ten for service or staff smiling skills; even though, the food was cheap and filling -in many occasions I haven’t been able to finish my meal.

Tuk Tuk might appeal to anyone who seek to placate their hunger for a short period of time or if you are happy to order some starters, but I won’t say it will do the job is you are looking for a single fill-me-up dish.

As always, opinions vary, so please don’t let mine ruin your free will. So, if you feel like trying, do so, please. Don’t worry, I won’t say, I told you so.

Tuktuk

56 Old Compton Street
London W1D 4UE

Leave a Reply

