GAY KISSING

I know I might not be the bravest person when it comes to kiss in public. Though, I have not been ashamed to do so in SoHo or in gay bars, or gay areas or as they are called nowadays, Gay Villages.

I do still not feel comfortable showing affection in such a way in any other places. I know, many gay men would say that I just have to accept the way I am and challenge the society in which we all live. Easy to say, not so easy to do, especially if anyone has to over-rule the intrinsic mental resistance that stop them doing so.

I guess the reason for all this deliberation comes from the innocent act of kissing between two straight teenagers in a bus stop in which I was waiting yesterday. The early affection game shown by these two people took me into some kind of reflection and I thought about how difficult is for so many gay men to be able to show their true feelings. Not because they don’t want to, but due to the inhibitions that we have as a result not just of our personal education but the fear of the reaction from those surrounding us.

I realised how much of the Society we need still to change. I know that I won’t necessarily be supported in this matter since, as I mentioned earlier, many gay men won’t agree with my attitude. I wish it was so easy for everyone. I am not shameful of what I am, but I acknowledge that there are difficulties to express freely all the range of feelings and emotions in public in the same way that straight people do.

Leave a comment